New NCAA Women’s Gymnastics Regional & Championship Formats



NCAA Women’s Gymnastics will be using a new Regional and National Championship format this year.


There are 36 teams that are eligible to participate in Regional Championships including 12 AA competitors and 64 individual event specialists, all of whom can not be from a qualifying team.

Teams ranked 1-16 are seeded in the bracket by the NCAA Women’s Gymnastics Committee and then the remaining teams are placed in the bracket based on their geographic location to one of the 4 Regional competition sites.

Regional competitions will be held at 4 sites across the country on April 4 – 6, 2019.

The 4 Regional sites include:

  • Ann Arbor Regional – Ann Arbor, Michigan (University of Michigan)
  • Athens Regional – Athens, Georgia (University of Georgia
  • Corvallis Regional – Corvallis, Oregon (Oregon State University)
  • Baton Rouge Regional – Baton Rouge, Louisiana (Louisiana State University)

The Regional selection will be announced on March 25, 2019.  Stay tuned for a completed competition bracket!

Each Regional site will consist on 9 teams, about 3 AA athletes, and 4 event specialists per event.  AA and event specialists are not a part of a qualifying team.

Regionals – Day 1

Two teams will compete against each other that are ranked 29 – 36.

Regionals – Day 2

Day 2 will consist of 2 sessions.  Seven teams ranked 1-28 will be split between both sessions including the winning team from Day 1 for a total of 8 teams.

regionals – day 3

The top 2 winning teams from Session 1 and from Session 2 from the previous day, a total of 4 teams, will compete for 2 spots that advance to National Championships!


A total of 8 teams, 4 AA athletes, and 16 event specialists will advance to National Championships from each Regional site!

national championships

National Championships will be held at the Fort Worth Convention Center in Fort Worth, Texas on April 19 – 20, 2019.

On April 19, the top 8 teams advancing from Regional competitions will be divided between two sessions.  Four teams in each session will compete for 2 qualifying spots to Team finals.

In addition,  athletes on qualifying teams, AA athletes and event specialists will compete for AA and Event title honors.

The top 2 teams from each of the previous days sessions, for a total of 4 teams, will compete for National Championship honors on April 20.


Here is a comparison of the old and new Regional & National competition formats.



  1. We will post the NCAA Women’s Regional/National bracket once it is tentatively released on 3/25.
  2. We will also post TV viewing schedules for Regionals and Nationals once released.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *